This is the "For Checkout" page of the "Library Resources & Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources & Services   Tags: find books, finding information, library resources, library services, orientation  

Learn more about what the library has to offer, both on campus and off!
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://libguides.jccmi.edu/resourcesandservices Print Guide RSS Updates

For Checkout Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Check Out Items

To check out items, you'll need your JC library card. If you're a Jackson County resident and have a Jackson District Library card, your JDL card is the same one that you use here at JC.

Don't have a library card? Just stop at the main desk with your driver's license or state-issued ID and we'll get you one! The process takes less than five minutes.

When you have an item picked out for check out, just bring it to the main desk and we'll take care of it for you! 

For more information on library cards, take a look at our Library Card Policies page!

 

MeL / Interlibrary Loan

Need a book, but can't find it at JC or JDL? You can use MeLCat! This service allows users to borrow items from a wide variety of libraries across the state of Michigan, ranging from various public libraries to large university and college libraries. All you need is your library card! Items ordered through MeLCat usually take between 5-10 days to arrive.

If you can't find the item you need through MeLCat, you can use our interlibrary loan service. We will track down the item or article you need from another library, anywhere in the United States! Books requested through interlibrary loan typically take at least two weeks to arrive; articles take about a week.

 

Books

There are over 30,000 volumes available for checkout at Atkinson Library! Our books are mostly organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system (LCC), which uses letters and numbers to classify books based on subject. You will find placards on the end of each row showing which call numbers are contained on each side of the shelf.

The library's books for checkout are housed on both floors, with the majority being upstairs. Collections available to browse are:

Main Circulating Collection

Our main collection is located on the 2nd floor of Atkinson Hall. Here you will find the bulk of our collection, arranged according to the LCC system. The majority of the books are non-fiction, research-based titles, which are suitable for use in your papers. These are all able to be checked out for three weeks at a time.

Children's Book Collection

We have a small collection of children's books on the first floor of Atkinson Hall, toward the north side of the building. There are picture books, chapter books, and non-fiction books to choose from. Picture books and chapter books are arranged by the author's last name, and non-fiction books are arranged using the Dewey Decimal System. All are available to be checked out for three weeks.

International Collection

Our international collection consists of many Spanish-language titles. There are fiction, non-fiction, young adult, and children's books available. They are located on the first floor, just before the children's books. All may be checked out for three weeks.

New Books

Our newest books are located on the shelf opposite the printer. Make sure to take a look at all these new arrivals! They represent titles from all collections and are available to be checked out for three weeks.

 

 

DVDs & CDs

The library has a few CDs and DVDs available for three-week checkout. They are mostly educational in nature.

Our CDs are mostly classical, with some movie soundtracks as well. DVDs include many Great Courses lecture titles, Standard Deviants math DVDs, as well as many documentaries and a few Shakespeare movies. There are a few classic movies, such as Casablanca and Cabaret, as well.

You can browse the available titles by using the library catalog online and selecting "JC DVDs and CDs" from the dropdown menu. Our DVDs and CDs are all located in the reserve room behind the main desk, so please just ask and we will get any of them for you to check out! 

 

Jackson District Library

Jackson College partners with Jackson District Library, which offers many benefits to our students and our community! JC Library cards work at JDL branches, and vice versa. Additionally, Atkinson Library shares a catalog with JDL, which means that our students are able to borrow any items from JDL - including popular movies, CDs, books, and audiobooks! You can even have them sent to Atkinson Library and pick them up right on campus! If we don't have it at JC, chances are you can get it from JDL! Ask at the library main desk if you have any questions on how to borrow items from JDL.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip